Access Virus B Repair

I bought an Access Virus B desktop on 15 April 2017. This looks like a really nice Virtual Analog synth. The description on ebay said:

unit powers up, only 2 yellow lights come on on the left side of the panel, the green screen lights up as well, i tried every single push button but no difference at all,  that is all that comes on

I bought it BECAUSE it was broke and got it for $330 with shipping. This sounds promising to me and many other people wanted, so I hope it is a quick fix. So what could cause this? Wrong power supply, dead battery (CR2032), bad firmware, needs a power-on reset performed- these are all things I will explore. Maybe I’ll get lucky, or maybe I’ll resell it. After the easy checks it will be time to go inside, but first some online study!

Some threads say to change the electrolytic capacitors (22 or so) and the voltage regulators (3). I just bought a tester for ESR, capacitors, and transistors. Should come in handy.

Found some more details on exactly which cap is bad. Could it just be one? Same symptoms mentioned. The cap circled is 100uf.

accessvirusbschematic
From https://groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=43108.0

 

Update

The synth works! I simply performed a factory reset and played it for several hours. It sounds beautiful and everything works great. What I have noticed, though, is instability. During other efforts to play it, the synth would restart constantly. All lights would flash on and the sound would stop. There is still something wrong- perhaps temperature dependent? What I have found is the synth needs a 5-7 minute warm-up period before it becomes stable and plays well. So until it really ‘breaks’ I will leave it alone.

I did replace several knobs with big retro ones that looks really cool and make it easier to find the filter and resonance controls.

Flash Forward 7 Months

The Virus is now unstable and resets whenever a MIDI signal is applied. Time for the fix. First, open it up.

 

The sound generating board is on mounted under the control board. There are 2 ribbon cables that need to be removed in order to access the underside of the board.

20171114_210631.jpg

 

SAFELY remove the ribbon cables

to reach the underside of the board.

I removed the suspect capacitor. It is 100 uf/25v electrolytic. The positive lead is on the left in the picture below.

20171114_213109.jpg
Bad Capacitor Removed

Note in photo above I may have removed the left PCB pad by accident due to my soldering iron not being hot enough and pulling too hard.

I tested the old capacitor and the new one to compare them.  The bad one (on the left) has a very high ESR- over 400 times the ESR on the good one. This is the problem.

 

If you are wondering what this cool test device is, it is the Yosoo GM328 multi-function tester It test resistors, capacitors, transistors, diodes- invaluable and only $20.

Does it work?

 

And it plays!

 

29 thoughts on “Access Virus B Repair”

  1. Hello Eric, I have an Access Virus b and it has the EXACT same problem you fixed here. Thing is, I’m not an electronics wizard like yourself and can’t replace a capacitor. Seems like a generally simple fix. I want to repair and sell the unit. Is this something you’d be interested in doing for me? repairing it? Or are you interested in purchasing it?

    Like

  2. Hello Erich! Thanks for sharing this. I believe we exchanged some dialog a few days back about this. I get the Error Number 2 DSP-RAM failed! message. It sounds like the capacitor shown here is the problem (which may have damaged my DSP-RAM). I’m thinking of replacing this as a first pass to at least stop the problem from getting worse. Do you have any part numbers or suggestions on what capacitor to buy (like a link)?

    That would be really helpful! Thank you for your great website and detailed information!

    Like

      1. hello Eric, I see that the capacitor in the link is rated 35v and not 25v like the original one. Is this safe to use for a repair. I’m having a similar problem but mine won’t turn itself on at all. I wanted to try and replace that capacitor to see if this fixes the issue.

        Like

  3. Hi Erich,
    I got one issue with my Virus b, when I press the value or parameter button it changes to lfo2 and sometimes to oscillator menu, any hint ??

    Like

    1. Every button sends a signal with something decodes into commands for the microprocessor. You would need to be able to read schematics and see where those switches signals go. Might be able to do enough testing to confirm a bad IC and replace it.

      Like

      1. Really thanks for you quick reply, I’ve searched on the web and there are several complains about this issue, when pressing one button the virus has some strange behavior … fortunately the issue appear and then suddenly it disappears, maybe the virus need some time to warm up and get stable. Meanwhile I will replace one bad encoder, change battery and replace some condenser.

        Like

  4. I did exactly as you say and guess what… It works!!! My Virus b is back from the dead! I’m so happy I could kiss you. Thank you so much!!!

    Like

  5. Thank you kindly Erich, one cap replaced in South Africa. up and running again, your advice is fantastic, please keep up the great work.

    Like

      1. Hello Erich!

        I see that you continue to amaze people with your synth repair virtuosity. LoL!
        Keep up the great work. You are a master!

        Best,

        Joel Someillan | Composer, Producer
        Someillan Productions
        http://www.someillan.com/
        cel. 305-333-7900

        Like

Leave a comment